Diary of the Raven: Introduction

Edgar Allan Poe is stalking me.

On a display in Borders earlier this week, I found a sizable display of “The Poe Shadow” by Matthew Pearl, in which a young lawyer tries to salvage the reputation of the deceased Poe.

Tucked in the New Releases section at Blockbuster, a large black bird stared malevolently from a movie called “The Raven”, in which a modern day singer named Lenore is visited by Poe’s ghost and stalked by a killer “from beyond the grave”.

I avoided both of them. Not because I’m afraid they’re not quality (OK, I’m pretty sure that the Raven movie isn’t, but we’ll let that pass), but because I’m trying at this point to just concentrate on the script in front of me – on the Poe at hand, if you will.

But it’s fascinating to me just how many ways there are to take Poe’s material. It’s a fascinating canvas – because his writing is so suggestive, because he leaves so many things open to interpretation, you can go in dozens of different directions. The biggest challenge? Picking the right one.

Over the weeks to come, I’ll be giving you glimpses into the process of creating Shadow of the Raven: The Stories of Edgar Allan Poe. It’s been an interesting learning process, and I’m looking forward to sharing it with you.

0 Responses to “Diary of the Raven: Introduction”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

