Saying Good-bye to George Washington

We have ended a successful run of Wayside’s world premiere show George Washington: Young Man, Young Country and the first of Wayside’s Emerging Artists in Action programs. It saddens me to have arrived at the end. Usually I am able to accept the end of one project because I am looking forward to the next. And while I do have new projects to look forward to, I find myself looking back on the wild and crazy ride that was George Washington and wishing it can continue.

I have already been approached by a couple of people wishing we would take this show on tour. How perfect it would be in our schools. How perfect indeed, and then I remember, my cast is teenagers. They are school themselves. And what makes this show even more wonderful is the fact it was written and performed by area youth. But, this proves that the community has seen what I see. A wonderful project. I only hope we will be able to keep this program going. If only this expansion can happen faster.Well, now it is time to look to the future. Things at Wayside never slow down. We open another world premiere and then we have Christmas which is always an exciting time and even more so this year as we celebrate in Front Royal. Then we return to our next Emerging Artists in Action production Romeo and Juliet. I feel a close connection with Mr. William Shakespeare (we share the same birthday!). Plus, we are learning stage combat!Now here is a project I can’t wait to start.

1 Response to “Saying Good-bye to George Washington”


  1. 1 Becca S. November 29, 2007 at 2:56 am

    As an author of George Washington: Young Man, Young Country I share your feelings of a difficult ending. I’ll be the first to admit that I had no idea what I was getting into when you first asked me if I was interested in this program. I had no way of knowing the crazy and exciting changes it would make in my life and in my confidence in my ability. Having never written a play before, any and everything was open game and I feel honored and privelaged to have had the opportunity to have worked with such a trio of authors with Patsy and her wealth of information to clarify the path we should travel next, and of course, the lovely Sarah: the helm of the writers’ workshops, the spearhead of the production and the driving wind behind the sails. I tip my hat, my dear, to your passion, so infectious and so driving. Thank you for opening my eyes to more of the world I already love.


Leave a Reply

